Elwin Loomis

People better than you.



"Is this new to you? Did you know about all this?" My boss asked
"This isn’t new, but yes, I am learning here too," I admitted.

The architect continued, painting their picture of an extremely modern technical approach. Not bleeding edge perhaps, but certainly very leading edge. The perfect balance of being forward enough to be a competitive advantage, but not so forward to be risky or unattainable; and they were a builder as well as an architect.

As they carried forward the vision,

I wondered

Did my boss think I obsoleted myself by enrolling someone better?
I might have thought this too, years ago.

But
If you want to achieve the amazing,
If you want to be better,

You not only need to surround yourself with
People better than you,
but also enroll them to your pursuit.

The questions then become:
What does ‘better’ mean?
What mission are you trying to achieve?

Everyone has their superpower,
And their kryptonite,

I love people, discovering their superpower(s)
Connecting them with others whom they complement.
Then work towards a meaningful mission.

I wasn’t obsoleting myself bringing in someone ‘better than me’
I was complementing myself, and our mission.

People better than you, make you better.

Original Linkedin Post: https://bit.ly/38vxhN2
(worth clicking on the original linkedin Post, because the comments are amazing and often the conversation is better than the original post)